A single $30,000 unrestricted award and up to two honorable mentions awards of $10,000 each will be given.

Handy L. Lindsey, Jr. Award for Excellence in Organizational Management

About the Award

The Cameron Foundation’s Handy L. Lindsey, Jr. Award for Excellence in Organizational Management recognizes the most accomplished organization among competitors by focusing on management expertise. This award is named in honor of the Foundation’s first President and CEO for his belief in aspiring to excellence in philanthropy, and for his dedication in supporting local nonprofits to achieve greatness. A single $30,000 unrestricted award will be given annually to a nonprofit organization based in The Cameron Foundation’s service area that exemplifies excellence in overall organizational management. Up to two honorable mention awards of $10,000 each also will be given to organizations that exemplify excellence in any one of the nine topic areas listed below.

The award was developed to assess organizational management through a self-assessment process that compares an organization’s management practices with current best practices. Nine topic areas in organizational management were identified that comprise a well-managed organization. These topic areas include:

  • Governance
  • Planning
  • Human Resources and Volunteers
  • Fiscal Management
  • Resource Development
  • Program Management and Evaluation
  • Collaboration
  • Operations
  • Marketing and Communications

The Process
As part of the application, potential awardees compare their organization’s management policies and practices with over 70 characteristics identified in the research. A review committee comprised of one board member and program officer from The Cameron Foundation, as well as five selected volunteer community members, will evaluate and score the applications. The program officer has no vote in the scoring process. The review committee will select a winner and two honorable mentions based on the total scores. The recipients will be announced and awards will be presented at the Foundation’s Annual Grant Awards Ceremony in October.

Eligibility Requirements

  • The applicant organization must be at least five years old.
  • The applicant organization must have had 501(c)(3) status as determined by the Internal Revenue Service for at least three years.
  • The organization must be located within The Cameron Foundation’s service area (Petersburg, Hopewell, Dinwiddie, Prince George, Colonial Heights, southern Chesterfield, and/or Sussex) and a majority of its clients must be local residents.
  • If the organization has not previously received a grant from The Cameron Foundation, a site visit is required.
  • An organization is not eligible to compete for the award again until five years after receiving the $30,000 award.
  • Organizations are not eligible to compete if they have reports due to The Cameron Foundation that have not been submitted and approved.