March 21, 2016

Cameron Foundation announces board changes

The Cameron Foundation’s Board of Directors announces its 2016 slate of officers, two new members, and other committee updates. The officers include Pam Martin Comstock, chair; J. Tolleison Morriss, VI, vice chair; Kevin A. Hill, secretary; and Donald L. Haraway, treasurer. Larry C. Tucker is immediate past chair. The changes took effect in the Foundation’s February meeting.

The Board also welcomed two new members during the meeting. Vandy V. Jones, III is the current deputy county administrator for Sussex County. He brings more than 20 years of experience in local government and economic development, tourism, planning and community outreach. Jones is a lifelong resident of Dinwiddie County.

Mark H. Stevens, the second new addition to the board, was born, raised and educated in Petersburg and resides in the city. Stevens has over 35 years of professional experience in the banking industry and has spent his entire career in the Tri-Cities market.

“These are both remarkable community leaders who bring a lifetime of experiences to their new role at The Cameron Foundation,” said Board Chair Comstock. She noted the importance of having leaders on the board who will augment the Foundation’s mission, which centers on transforming the Tri-Cities and surrounding counties into a healthy, vibrant, and economically vital region by strategically leveraging resources for community impact. “We are honored that they will join us, and we look forward to working together to fulfill this mission,” Comstock added. Jones and Stevens fill vacancies created by the retirement of two of the Foundation’s founding directors, Ann C. Taylor and James L. Thacker, Jr.

In other updates, the Foundation approved the appointment of two community representatives to serve on its grants committee. These at-large members include Wendal A. Givens of Dinwiddie County and Jeffrey W. Geisz of Chester. Chaired by Director Cleveland A. Wright, the other members of the grants committee include Larry C. Tucker, J. Tolleison Morriss, VI, Chequila H. Fields, Vandy V. Jones, III, Mark H. Stevens, as well as Board Chair Comstock in an ex-officio capacity.

Additionally, Chequila Fields will serve as the committee chair for the 2016 Cleveland A. Wright Award for Outstanding Community Service. Each year, the Wright Award recognizes one local nonprofit organization for outstanding work that improves the quality of life of residents of the Tri-Cities area. The recipients are chosen based on their demonstrated commitment to caring, generosity of spirit, openness and accessibility. Prior to Fields assuming this chair position, Ann Taylor led the committee.

« go back to News