March 16, 2017

Cameron Foundation welcomes new board, committee members

With the retirement of two of its longstanding board members and rotation of some committee members, The Cameron Foundation announces a number of updates to its governing board and grants committee. The 2017 assignments took effect at the Foundation’s February board meeting.

Chequila H. Fields, a member of the Foundation’s board since 2012, has been named secretary. All of the other officers are continuing in their positions, including Pam Martin Comstock, chair; J. Tolleison Morriss, VI, vice chair; and, Donald L. Haraway, treasurer.

Fields fills the role previously held by retiring board member Kevin A. Hill. Also retiring was immediate past chair Larry C. Tucker. Both Tucker and Hill had served on the board since The Cameron Foundation’s founding in 2003. In honoring their service to the Foundation during Cameron’s annual ceremony last fall, Board Chair Comstock noted that both men had demonstrated a lifelong commitment to serving the greater good. “Their contributions to the citizens of this region have transcended their time here at The Cameron Foundation, and we are truly fortunate to have benefited from their wisdom and experiences over the years,” she said.

Two new members have joined the full board this year: Shikee H. Franklin and Jeffrey W. Geisz. Franklin is Director of Head Start at The Improvement Association. Her organization manages over $3 million in federal grants to provide comprehensive early childhood services to pregnant moms through five-year-olds and their families. She has offices in Dinwiddie and Sussex counties and resides in Emporia. Prior to joining the board, Franklin served on the Foundation’s review committee for the Cleveland A. Wright Award from 2009-2016.

Jeff Geisz is Managing Partner at One to One Direct, LLC, a marketing consulting company specializing in technology-driven strategies for financial industry clients. He was born in Petersburg, raised in Prince George, and currently resides in Chester. He previously served as an at-large member of the Foundation’s grants committee. Geisz also will chair the grants committee this year.

The Cameron Foundation has made an additional change to its grants committee by expanding from two to three at-large seats. These positions are being held by Martha A. Burton, assistant to the executive director at Crater Planning District Commission; Danielle MW Fitz-Hugh, president and CEO of the Petersburg Chamber of Commerce; and, Earnest H. Greene, external affairs manager at Dominion Resources, Inc.

“Our foundation strives to have a transformational impact on the Southside region, and we need strong leaders to help us pursue our goals. The nominating committee found so much great talent when considering board and committee candidates for 2017. We welcome our new members and are excited to be able to move forward with such an exceptional group of leaders from across the community,” Comstock said.

« go back to News